Administrative Setup

Sitamarhi is a part of Tirhut Division. Presently Sitamarhi consists of three Sub-divisions and 17 Blocks. The district of Sitamarhi was carved out of Muzaffarpur district on 11th December 1972. It is situated in the northern part of Bihar. Its headquarter is located at Dumra, five kilometers south of Sitamarhi. The district headquarter was shifted here after the town of Sitamarhi was devastated in one of the worst ever earthquake in January 1934.

District Magistrate

District Magistrate is posted in the district who is the top most official of Revenue and civil administration. He often belongs to I.A.S. cadre. District Magistrate conducts development and welfare works in the district. ADM and other officers are posted in order to help D.M. In the administration. The district has been divided into three subdivisions namely Sadar, Pupri and Belsand which are headed by sub-divisional officers either from I.A.S. or B.P.S.C. cadre. S.D.Os. are under direct authority of D.M. Subdivisions are divided in 17 development blocks where B.D.Os. are posted who undertake development and welfare projects. Sitamarhi district has 845 revenue villages.

Superintendent of Police

The Superintendent of Police, Sitamarhi is the head of the district police administration. The Deputy Superintendent of Police are posted to assist the police superintendent who are either from the Indian Police Service or the Bihar Police Service. In each subdivision of the district, the Deputy Superintendent of Police are posted who keep control on police administration.

Judicial Administration:

Judicial Administration: The Judges and Munshif magistrates are posted at district and sub-division who administer and deliver justice of different kinds. The district judiciary is part of Indian judicial system as envisaged in Indian Constitution and independent of district administration.